Please don't check this box if you are a human.

Welcome to the Journey

Africa’s Photographer of the Year is the most prestigious photography competition on the continent. It was created to inspire travel to Africa and showcase the continent’s incomparable beauty. Drawing on entries from around the world and focusing on the iconic destinations, the competition celebrates the beauty of Africa's wildlife, landscapes and people.

Africa’s Photographer of the Year is the biggest photography competition of its kind with the grand prize an ultra-luxurious African safari valued at $40,000. The worldwide competition is brought to you by Rhino Africa in association with other leading brands.

The year-long competition is split into four quarterly themes and will focus on New Beginnings, Colourful Africa, Mighty & Miniscule and The Road not Taken. Once one theme closes, another will open, each with a duration of three months. Judges will select quarterly winners who will then go into a public vote to decide who wins the grand prize of a once-in-a-lifetime 14-Day holiday for two. Don’t wait around for your dream trip to Africa, enter now and stand a chance to make it a reality.


Please don't check this box if you are a human.

About Rhino Africa

Rhino Africa is Africa’s leading safari company and four-time World Travel Award winner. Founded in Cape Town in 2004, Rhino Africa is the ultimate African travel experts with the incomparable knowledge and experience to ensure that your tailor-made African holiday is the best you'll ever have.

What we do

From Southern Africa to the Serengeti, and Madagascar to the Masai Mara - Rhino Africa allows you to discover the corners of the continent in a sustainable way. Every year more than 15,000 people come to us and allow our expert consultants to use their knowledge and experience to design them a bespoke itinerary. Our core business enables us to engage in areas of nature conservation, animal welfare and rural education in Africa. Each guest travelling with us therefore forms part of a larger project which aims to leave behind a positive footprint in the lands of Africa.

Read More

Our partners

A massive thank you to the leading brands who have made this competition possible.